Skip to content

PHOTOS: School District 57 trustees officially sworn in

Tim Bennett was re-elected as board chair

School District 57’s new board of trustees has been officially sworn in.

The inaugural board meeting took place Nov. 6 and saw the five new, and two returning trustees, take their oaths of office.

The event opened with greetings from Lheidli T’enneh Elder Darlene McIntosh, and McLeod Lake Indian Band Elder Doris Leclair.

“What we are doing here is creating a sacred space for the people that will be looking after the children and our youth,” said McIntosh before leading the group in a blessing.


The Lheidli T’enneh men’s drum group then performed an opening song, after which the trustees were invited to stand with judge Michael A. Gray and take their oaths.

New Prince George trustees Betty Bekkering, Ron Polillio and Trent Derrick, took their oaths alongside the returning trustees Tim Bennett and Sharel Warrington.

The new board is also comprised of trustees from two electoral districts: Bob Thomson from the Robson Valley and Shuirose Valimohamed from McKenzie.

Once the board got down to business, Tim Bennett, who previously served as chair, was again elected to the position by acclamation.

Warrington was elected as vice-chair, and Polillio was elected as the British Columbia School Trustees Association – BCSTA provincial councillor. Bekkering was elected as the B.C. Public School Employers Association representative.

Prince George Mayor Lyn Hall, McKenzie Mayor Joan Atkinson and Regional District of Fraser-Fort George directors Terry Burgess and Lara Beckett also attended the inauguration.

The next school board meeting will be held on Dec. 4.


Hanna Petersen

About the Author: Hanna Petersen

Born and raised in Prince George, Hanna Petersen is a graduate of UNBC. She then abandoned her hometown for the East Coast, graduating with a bachelor of journalism from the University of King's College in the process.
Read more